Bite.

Our dog bit another dog last week.  Our beautiful, calm, sweet dog in an instant ripped a part of another dog’s ear off.  Every time I think about it, I want to throw up.

It was an awful experience, but you would not believe how kindly the humans involved treated each other.  I was beyond impressed by the other dog owner’s caring and empathic demeanor  in the face of such violence.  I hope I would have reacted the same, were the situation reversed.  All in all, the best possible outcome, considering: humans who were able to take care of the situation, and the injured pup healing–with stitches.

But still, I am shaken and upset.

Luna is teaching me about loving the whole of a being. Not just the sparkly, happy bits, but the darker, muddier parts that can be scary and need some work.

4 Responses to “Bite.”

  1. Marinda Says:

    😦 I’m so sorry this happened. But I’m glad that the humans involved were understanding about it. Poor Luna is lucky that she has you two to love all the parts of her. We love her, too!!

  2. brandy Says:

    OH no. Poor everyone. Hug Luna for us.

    • andothersuchthings Says:

      Thanks Brandy:) We are feeling better after talking to the trainer on the phone. She made it all seem doable. ugh. We will pass on hugs!

Leave a Reply

