Sept Goal Wrap Up

So at first glance my goals for September didn’t go so well.  But I think it was more of a matter of changing priorities and focus, as opposed to slacking off. I’m ok with that.

1.  Make a list of all the reasons marketing is fun. I made a list.  I should post it here so you guys can add to it.

2. Finish drawing Fall Mailer and send it off to get printed. Ergh.  This one did fall by the wayside and now I’m seriously behind.  Not good.

3.  Get a wholesale account for Magnetic Kids. Still working on it.

4.  Make a list of blogs, and then contact 3 each week for both Magnetic Kids, and Other Such Things shop. This felt like to much to bite off in the end.  I did make a list, but contacting three a week is too much for me right now.

5. Be brave and buy an expensive printer.  It will be worth it. Nope.

6.  Use said printer and put some prints in Other Such Things!  Nope.

7.  Make a letter mobile.  Or two. List in Other Such Things shop.  Nope.

8.  Research holiday guides. I did a bit of research.

9.  Go. to. the. beach. Yes and it was lovely!

10.  Get a dog.  yup, I dare me. We are working on it!

10. Think about updating portfolio site. Have some more changes to make, but did make some serious headway on this one.

Anyhow I’ve decided to really focus on pursuing children’s illustration.  So I’m going to work on my networking skills to get some advice.  I want to start contacting book publishers as well as magazines.  I’m hoping the book workshop will be helpful will all of this.

I think this means not selling prints for right now.  Maybe I’ll change my mind, but it seems like too much at the moment.  So that fancy new printer will have to wait.  Sad.

But it does mean updating my site with new kid’s work. I’ve been working on a few new pieces, and I just finished up an illustration for Time Out NY Kids.  Exciting!  And perfect timing.

Btw, the photo above is a plaque on a historic house in Wickford, RI.   I love the colors and the little icon above the name.  Providence doesn’t have any icons on it’s historic plaques…

9 Responses to “Sept Goal Wrap Up”

  1. Deb Says:

    Very cool, I look forward to checking out your new illustrations! What book workshop will you be attending? – sounds interesting!

    Best,
    Deb

  2. Liz Says:

    So cool about the children’s illustration pursuit, and the networking for that cause, so exciting! Hope your book workshop is totally thrilling, and look forward to seeing what you come up with!

  3. Melanie Says:

    I definitely understand that re-focusing leads to not feeling like you accomplished your goals. I’ve been rerouted many times and then almost have to make a list of the things I DID do so I don’t feel like a total slacker. ha! Best of luck on the new direction.

  4. Cyn Says:

    Congratulations on the Time Out gig – how great! Good luck with the book workshop and I hope you make a great connections.

  5. gaia Says:

    Thanks for the kind words everybody! And yay for the Goal Meetup living on!
    Deb, it’s called Falling Leaves: Picture Books Masters Class. There’s a small description here:
    http://scbwi-easternny.org/conferences.html

  6. modish Says:

    Oooh, children’s illustration, neat! I can’t wait to see more of that work. And I like what you said up top: “I think it was more of a matter of changing priorities and focus, as opposed to slacking off.” That happens to me too often and it’s important to recognize that you were still workin hard, even if it wasn’t on what you had planned- good job! 😉

  7. candiedfabrics Says:

    I too often readjust my goals throughout the month…I just add them to the list and cross them off again….! Good luck with the new direction!

  8. Kiley Says:

    You got a dog AND went to the beach? Lucky you!

  9. gaia Says:

    oops! I crossed off our dog goal… I meant to leave the “We are working on it” part un-crossed. So darn, no dog for us…yet:)

Leave a Reply

